Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes May 11, 2017 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Reitz Union Chamber

Nicole Stedman, Chair, called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. and the April minutes were approved.

Chair's Report

Nicole Stedman, Faculty Senate Chair

- Gave 2016-2017 Senate Council Reports.
 - o Academic Policy Council
 - Addressing Student Incivility in the Classroom
 - Exam Policy
 - New Faculty Course Evaluation
 - Academic Integrity Task Force
 - 12 Day Rule
 - UF Quest Experience
 - New Textbook Law
 - o Infrastructure Council
 - Online training system
 - Space on Campus
 - Research and Scholarship Council
 - Academic Freedom and Responsibility
 - IDCs
 - Campus wide training for PIs
 - Academic Analytics
 - Research Information Management Systems
 - Open Access Publishing Fund
 - Increased funding for UF Libraries
 - Office of Technology Licensing

Provost's Report

Joe Glover, Provost

- Provost Glover gave the <u>2017 Legislative Session</u> report as of May 11, 2017
- The legislative budget is subject to veto by the Governor.

Community Mini-Grant Program

Charles Lane, COO & Sr. VP

- Charles Lane gave a presentation on the Community Mini-Grant Program
- Conceptual Objectives
 - Ascertain opportunities for leveraging mutual preeminence
 - Determine optimal synergy between the University and the City
 - o Enhance the quality of the built environment
 - Foster strong physical and programmatic connections between the campus and the community
 - o Identify and address weaknesses in infrastructure
 - o Integrate with ongoing campus and city master planning initiatives



- Communicate a comprehensive vision that engages the entire community
- UF-City of Gainesville awarded \$312,760 in research awards

Action Items:

Recommended Constitutional Language

Ana Spiguel, Liaison For Faculty IT Committee **Constitution Committee**

- The Faculty IT Committee was approved by the Senate in May 2016. Constitution Committee recommends the following language to be added to the Constitution under Article V (4)(E):
 - University Information Technology Committee. The University Information Technology Committee shall be composed of eighteen voting members, one member from the University Libraries, one member from the Florida Museum, and one from each of the sixteen colleges. Voting members will serve three-year terms and shall be nominated by action of the respective faculty assembly. Faculty members of all ranks are eligible for membership. The Chair is elected by the Committee and will serve a one-year term. The University Chief Information Officer and two appointees of same, shall serve as liaisons to the Committee. Three non-voting student members shall be chosen for one-year terms: one by the Student Government, one by the Graduate Student Council, and one from one of the professional colleges, rotating between the colleges on an annual basis. The Committee shall assist University leaders in developing and updating strategic plans for information and communications technology. The Committee shall advise the Faculty Senate on all information and communications technology, including those matters affecting the University. The Chief Information Officer or her or his designated liaison shall present matters of policy to the Committee in a timely manner, provide the Committee with pertinent details about information and communications technology network policy changes, and report to the Committee on actions taken in response to the Committee's recommendations.
 - This item was passed

Curriculum Committee

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost **Undergraduate Studies**

- New Degree <u>Education Sciences</u>
 - This item was passed
- Name Change Soil and Water Sciences (Courses and Elective) (BS)
 - This item was passed (adding an "s" to the name)

Graduate Council

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost Undergraduate Studies (Courses -

- Name Change <u>Soil and Water Sciences</u> MS)
 - This item was passed (adding an "s" to the name)
- Name Change Soil and Water Sciences (Courses PHD)
 - This item was passed (adding an "s" to the name)

Information Items:

Curriculum Committee

Rhonda Moraca, Assistant Dean **Graduate School**

New Degree – Doctor of Musical Arts

• School of Music requests approval of a new degree in Musical Arts.



Regulations (Lights)

Ana Spiguel, Liaison
Constitution Committee

4.007 – Confidentiality of Student - GREEN

The proposed amendment adds "minors, certificates" and "concentrations to the categories of student directory information. It updates the regulation to reflect the current academic credentials offered by the university. In addition, the provision regarding requests for nondisclosure of directory information is revised slightly in order to accommodate for a flexible process that may not involve paper forms.

3.0375 – Tuition Cost - GREEN

The proposed amendment removes obsolete language referring to previous years' fee tiers. It also updates the regulation to reflect the current tuition set by the legislature for the 2017-2018 school year. The sole change to tuition cost from the 2016-2017 tuition rates is an increase in the repeat surcharge rate from \$177.57 to \$181.12 as set by the BOG

UF Quest – Request for Feedback

Angela Lindner, Associate Provost Undergraduate Studies

 Angela Lindner gave the last of three presentations about UF Quest presenting the final proposed model and asking for feedback.

<u>Financial Transparency Portal & Revenue Snapshop</u> George Kolb, Director, Budget Office

 George Kolb explained the financial tools that were made available to faculty from the work of the Senate Budget Council. These tools can be found on the Budget Council webpage and will assist faculty on viewing current department budget information.

Office of Academic Affairs

Angel Kwolek-Folland, Assoc Provost Academic and Faculty Affairs

Faculty Awards AY2016-2017

 Angel Kwolek-Folland gave a report on the 2016-2017 Faculty Awards given by the Office of Academic Affairs.

Meeting adjourned at 4:43 p.m.

Attending

Senators Clay Calvert Susan Hegeman Carrie Adams Michelle Darnell Phyllis Hendry Damian Adams Tammy Davidson Michael Kane Keith Diem Suzan Alteri Christine Kelly-Begazo Luis Alvarez-Castro Andrea Dutton Serdar Kirli Dorina Avram John Erickson Yong Jae Ko Richard Berry Daniel Estrada Tanya Koropeckyj-Cox Helene Blondeau Tammy Euliano Mei-Fang Lan Rori Bloom Jian Ge John Lilly Gillian Lord Gary Boulware Carrie Geiger **Christopher Martinez** Kristy Breuhl Smith Lyn Gettys John Bromfield Ashley Ghiaseddin Christopher Martyniuk Mary Brownell **Chris Hass** William McGehee Jason Butler Darryl Heard Jack Mecholsky



Irfan Nasir

Deborah Nistler

Ashely Booth Norse

Hannah Norton

Cindy Prins

David Quillen

Mary Risner

Churchill Roberts

Andrew Rosalsky

Leah Rosenberg

Elizabeth Ross

Melody Royster

Susan Schaffer

Liz Screaton

Elizabeth Shepard

Steve Shugan

Amy Simonne

Steven Slutsky

Elisa Sottile

Ravi Srinivasan

Ray Thomas

Hans van Oostrom

Katie Vogel Anderson

Phil Wegner

Ann Wehmeyer

Kristin Weitzel

R. David Whitley

Mary Ellen Young

Liaisons

Jose Glover

Angel Kwolek-Folland

Charles Lane

Angela Lindner

Nicole Stedman

Guests

Lyle Brenner

Elayne Colon

Tom Dana

George Kolb

David Miller

Rhonda Moraca

Nadine Reynolds

Paul Richards

Christy Shorey

Tobey Shorey

Matt Walker

Andrew Wolpert

